After the Fire - Part 1
2002-10-04 - 2:53 p.m.

This is going to be hard. I can't seem to get life back to normalicy - yes, I know it will never be the same but does it have to be so damn different. I can't stop thinking about the fire, about losing my kids, about being so damn scared. We have found a place to live but it is on the second loor - will I be able to sleep or will I always think that if something happens I would not be able to get the kids out.

I have never been so scared in my life... never. I screamed, I cried and fought.... I truely thought that I was going to lose the boys n the fire and I COULD NOT save them. Even now, where as they are perfectly fine I am not. How can I justify being a parent when I am not able to protect them? Am I doing the right things with their lives?

I know that I have scared many people - firends, family and even just aquaintances.... but I can't out run the reminded I carry with me - my cast. The constant invitation for any person to ask me what happened and though I just use the short answers ... "I shattered my wrist", "I jumped out a window", "There was a fire" .... I eventually talk and over and over again the reminder comes and the emotions follow.

I now james is not comfortable in the second story apartment but i think it is a step towards moving on. I know that if the fire had not happened we probably would have ended up in the top floor due to the noise factor but now it comes down to do we take the risk of being on the second story or does the fire win and rule our lives completely?


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan