My kids...
2003-05-20 - 3:39 p.m.

Blah. and now for something completely different. I think that i will do a topic of the day today because it makes for a great avoidance technique. Just kidding. Some days I wish that I was like Dreamspeaker and could rant about a specific subject like she does. my mind just wanders too much but i think i want to talk about my kids today. This is a rarity for me but hey, some days you have to break the rules.

I have finally discovered why there has been such a problem with the kids recently. Contradiction. I tell them one thing.. James lets them do another. It has transformed my toddler into a mess and the baby into a terror. I find this very unnerving. My kids were better behaved and less weird pre- stay at home with Dad days. I am still working on a solution - though am coming closer and closer to that each day.

P.J. is my eldest and is three years old. Who ever coined the phrase "the terrible twos" had never met a three year old. He has an incredible imagination and more energy than any other being i know. He is very bright and resourceful (especially when I am not watching him). P.J. knows his numbers, colors and his letters (kinda). We are currently working on potty training which is delaying my decision to enroll him in pre-school.... though this is a little soon for that. He is very affectation and loving.

Skeeter is my baby ... well, he IS 17 months old and a lot of trouble. There is no control on this one due to an overwhelming lack of daddy-don't. He is cute and cunning with an incredible temper within him. He is both easily frustrated and easily fascinated. He is the 'average' child all the books tell you about - and I was unprepared for that since P.J. was not.

Things I have learned since having my kids:

1) Nothing is more important to you or will consume you more than the safety of your kids.
2) Milk and cookies do make it all better
3) You always need a kiss to sleep at night.
4) Stuffed animals are much better than real one (especially at planning hide-and-seek)
5) The carpet will never be perfectly clean and neither will the kids
6) They do hear everything you say and are more than willing to repeat it
7) Kids are not "little adults" - they are magical creatures.
8) Nothing can make you smile like a three year old trying very hard to cheer you up.
9) Love is not even close to describing the emotion you hold for your children
10) To be a good parent you always need some time to yourself.

Sorry this is short... My hand is hurting... more tomorrow.


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan