religion and cold
2003-09-25 - 4:19 p.m.

Religion. One of those touchy topics that many people do not want to talk about. I think that I have talked plenty around here about my religious beliefs but lately something has been irking me. I think that the �Campus Ministry Preachers� that have been swarming to campus have started this all inside me. I watch them as they talk loudly about �faith�, �god�, �hell� and �sin�. Truthfully it amuses me but it also makes me wonder about my own faith. I have not been �good� in practicing at all. Heck, I do not even have an alter set up right now � even though I am not sure why I do not. Is it because I practice alone that now does not seem so appealing? I realize that I do not yearn for time alone anymore � nor do I relish in the feelings I get when I am alone in circle. I can get those euphoric feelings almost daily now, most especially when TBND is around.

I made the decision when each of my boys was born that I would not get them baptized into my parent�s church (Episcopalian). I was raised in that religion and I have not practiced in my heart ever. I did not see the need to baptize them in that faith. I also did not �give� them any religion when they were infants. I feel that one has to make that decision themselves on what religion to hold. But should I guide them? Should I at least be showing to them one faith so that they do have a concept of religion and the need for faith in something? Will they not understand unless shown some sort of option?

Maybe it is time to become more active. I remember just a few years ago marking the year by all the Pagan holidays and skipping the Christian ones. I am not sure that I should be so exclusive with the kids due to the fact that they do live in a �mixed culture� world. Or do I take the tone of the Christian religions and only celebrate our holidays at home� taking them out of school for Candlemas and Yule. Does it matter? Will it impact them in some way? Will it make them resent my religion and turn to another?

I guess the real question is if there truly is something lacking in their lives due to a lack of a formal religion. I realize that one does not need religion to be whole � but I do feel that every person needs some sort of spirituality to feel complete. I do not know how to �instruct� my kids on spirituality without having some type of home religion. I am not against teaching them my faith but I am not sure when, how, or even if it is necessary. I think that I might enjoy it � but it would take some beginning effort to draw it back into my everyday life.

This is one of those things they don�t warn you about when they let you have kids to raise. Just like hysterical screams at 6:30 am by a toddler that just wants more milk but sounds as though his left arm had been ripped off by a wild boar�and also the fact that he can scream like this for a full 45 minutes or more depending on how badly he wants that milk.

Damn sleep � who needs it.

Well, I do. I pretty much passed out last night at around 9:30 pm. I was in the middle of my Plant Pathology studying and I decided to take a quick break and sit up on the bed to talk to TBND. Well, about 5 minutes later I was totally passed out. I barely remember the rest of the evening. I had some dreams that kept waking me up because I was hearing the phone ringing in my dreams (at least I think it was only in my dreams) I feel a lot better today except that even though I was able to get the kids up, changed, dressed and into their fall coats�I seemed to forget mine completely and yes, at 8:30 this morning it was a balmy 45 degrees out with a massively cold wind. Damn. I froze most of the morning till I got to work where the heat was on.

BBBRRRRR!


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan