Dates to Remember
2004-07-01 - 1:38 p.m.

July 2004: Gotta Love It!

July 11 - my 26th birthday

July 21 - my third wedding anniversary

July 22 - my niece's 10th birthday

July 25 - my hubby's 27th birthday

Birthdays make me weird... and yes, I am already preparing for mine. Usually I spend the second weekend in July at an SCA event called Warriors and Warlords (aka WW) with my "other" family. I try to let them forget it is my birthday but "mom" always remembers and I end up singing for my supper (literally). This year... due to Skeeter... no camping for us. Nope. Grr. (it is okay because I can't afford it 'really').

Birthdays.....

Birthdays are for families and friends but they have always been odd to me. Summer birthdays are usually forgotten by other kids and college students are gone away home. There is a casual acceptance of them being forgotten... and one gets used to it. The hard part about birthdays for me is the 'family' thing.

I was adopted at birth and only have a few stray facts about my birthparents. Never looked for them (still tossing that idea around in my head) and developed the classic 'adopted-kid-abandonment-issues' complex. My adopted family were good to me, in a typical ice-cold 50's family way, and there is not much to complain about except for my new complexes (thanks to them - but what are families for) - 'must-be-perfect' complex followed by the 'wonderful-housewife-mother' issues and coming in at a close third...'overwhelming-distain-for-apples' issue.

At about 16 years of age I was 'adopted' into another family (my SCA family). I easily passed for Tina and Lloyd's oldest daughter and suddenly inheritated two younger sisters who I adore. Lloyd was also adopted and he understood the adopted problems. Tina and I are on the same wave length and can talk for hours about nothing. (Unlike my real mom and I). They have stood by me for so long now that they are my family (without the quotations).

Birthdays are just another day to me... except with more thinking about what would have been if I had not been given up. Where would I be? Who would I be? Would I still be who I am?

As usual I will let it pass quietly. Nothing special.


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan