The secret is Revealed
2003-03-14 - 9:23 a.m.

Well this is going to be a long one. I can promise you that up front. I have been thinking a lot in the last two days and have had to make some decisions about my future and my life and I think that this is the easy way to tell everyone. But first... The secret.

I have decided it was time I went back to school. I had thought this in the past - yes, but now I know what I want to accomplish and the goal seems closer. My plans are to get my degree to practice Optometry. (as some of you know - I am already an optician - this would make me an O.D.) The problem was figuring out how to do it. I ended my term at the UW system of double academic suspension.... Meaning I achieved academic suspension twice in one school year at two different branches of the campus. I need to get a bachelors and then a 4 year degree from a School of Optometry. I still have 53 active credits so that helps. .... But I had to get IN to a college. My options were. Total plan included 4 years of O.D. school

1) UW-Madison (probably not a chance in hell but I have yet to hear from them) If I get accepted here I plan on only working part time and concentrating on my school the most. Time to complete total plan: 6 years

2) UW- Colleges Online (** Here is What I DID get accepted to so far **) I can work full time and complete my Associates and my Bachelors online. Time to complete total plan: 7 years

3) MATC: (thank god I did not have to start here!) Total time to complete: 9 years

So as the cards fall I am currently accepted into the online degree program and still have a chance in being accepted to UWM. I am getting great financial aid (mostly grants) and my employer will reimburse tuition for as long as I am employed at a great rate. The reason I waited to tell every one. First I had promised a couple of people that they would have first dibs to know (Chris and Tina - mainly because they were the most persistent on drilling me and also because they are so special to me in many ways - this is not to say that everyone else is not :-) )

I had to tell J and what a flip. Here is a bit on the conversation.....

"Dear, I have decided to go back to school and was accepted it," - tech

"Huh?" - j

"I am going to finish my degree online" - tech

"Well, I still have to finish my degree. I am only a semester away from completion and I am going to be losing my credits sooner than you." -j

"Um.. Okay." - tech

The rest of the evening was awkward as he was pouty and I was bummed. He kept saying that he should finish his stuff first because of losing his credits and being closer to graduation. I mean, come on. Thanks for the support, dear. Now every time it is mentioned he becomes all sullen.

Please excuse this....

<***rant mode on ***>

I know that he is close to finishing. I also know that he has been working on a degree from 1995 to 2000.... Five years of screwing off with his frat that left him broke, in debt and without a degree. I know that he hates it when I say that but if one is having a hard time paying for school and having to work 40 hours to afford it then you don't live in a $600 a month room and party like your a rich boy. You have to put things in perspective and 5 years ..... And nothing except $30,000 in debt that he ignored for two years and now that we have just got it consolidated, we are still not sure if it is all of it because he didn't even know the debts that he had! Also... If he does graduate he will have a Bachelors in Ancient and Medieval History. Exactly what does that do for a job... Sure, you can teach with a Masters in that subject but with a bachelors - nothing.

<***rant mode off***>

Sorry... That was a bit ugly of me but that is how I feel right now.

The had part of my plan will be the second half. The Optometry school. There are only 16 in the country and the closest is in Chicago. My choices are to move there ( or to a suburb ) with the kids and hubby and go to school or to just commute. (yes, I know that this decision is a couple of years off but bear with me here) The boys will be attending school at this time and I am not sure I want them to be in the Chicago school system. But commuting would be long and drawn out - but not that bad and I could always possibly crash at night or two with stryck. The other option for school is one of the better ones - but it is in Boston. I would miss my friends terribly for those 4 years but I would be closer to Tina and Lloyd. It would be moving near family also. The schools for the boys would be better and heck, it is only for 4 years. I know this is a while off but one has to think in advance.

I think I have to end here today - this is a lot of info..... But you all wanted to know, right?

Love,

-tech


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan