Dungeons and Dragons
2003-04-03 - 9:32 a.m.

Okay - truth be told this journal is kinda depressing. I have come to realize that maybe I am always a little unhappy but just becuase that is the way that I feel - I should not only portray the negative. Because maybe with in that portayal is my own mindset. Does that make sense to anyone besides me?

I don't want everyone to think that my life is horrible. It is just not the way that I want it to be - nor at the level that I want it to be....yet. It is kinda average - neither strickingly good nor destructively bad. This has just been my outlash of things negative.

But today, for some odd reason I am in a pretty cheery mood. It is getting close to spring here which means I soon get to spend time outside. I am a sunshine person. In the winter I tend to develop a terrible attitude and get kinda snappy and ugly. I change alot in the summer - back to being a litle more fun, more open and more overpoweringly cute :-P I am totally irrestiable in the summer.

I can not wait for better weather and full days of sunshine. I love golf, play games, walk around and do almost everything outdoors. This year I plan to go back to Devil's Lake and finish the "top of the mountain" climb. Last time I went I could not make it all the way since I was walking around with a 27lb child on my back.

I would like to talk a little bit about childhood. Not mine really becuase no one need to relive that crappy experience with me. Childhood icons. People are bringing back the Care Bears, Rainbow Brite, and Strawberry Shortcake. WHAT? Of all the great 80's shows - THESE are what you choose! My college roomie and I (Kate) had spent one semister researching all the old cartoon like Smurfs, Gummy Bears, and Snorks. But we did have one argument about a left out and abandoned cartoon that no one remembers... Dungeons and Dragons.

In 1996-97 there were NO websites listing this great old cartoon and most people would swear that it never existed. I was starting to think it WAS my imagination. But now - It is back! WOOHOO! I am so thrilled - and so ashamed. I totally feel like a geek now. But what the hell.... here is what I found online. all my information is from here The Realm

Hank is 'The Ranger' (voice: Willie Aames), with a magic bow that shoots flaming arrows. He is probably the oldest and falls naturally into the leadership role.

Diana is 'The Acrobat' (voice: Tonya Gail Smith), with a magic javelin that can expand and contract as whe wills it. She is the only kid with any non-magical ability, being a gymnist.

Eric is 'The Cavalier' (voice: Don Most), with a magic shield that protects him from all harm. Good thing too, because this spoiled, sarcastic rich kid is scared of everything!

Shiela is 'The Thief' (voice: Katie Leigh), her weapon a magic cloak that makes her invisible when she flips up the hood. A useful item that compliments her pacifistic nature, though she only uses it to actually steal anything once.

Bobby is 'The Barbarian' (voice: Ted Field III), and his magic club can cause all sorts of dstruction, toppling trees and creating earthquakes. He is Sheila's little brother, the youngest and most precocious of the group (and hates to be reminded of that fact).

Presto is 'The Magician' (voice: Adam Rich). His magic hat might be considered the ultimate weapon, if only he could learn to control it, for he's conjured up everything from flower blossoms to aircraft carriers.

Six young people (ages about 10 to 18) get on an amusement park ride named (what else) Dungeons and Dragons. Once the ride is in motion, however, they are catapulted into a whole new reality--not to mention new roles. As such, they follow the suggestions (they're too vague and mystical to be called orders) by the Dungeonmaster, a benevolent little wizard, while trying to find the way back home. To this end, they each get magical weapons, which the villain of the piece, Venger, keeps trying to get, in order to gain power over Dungeonmaster and the whole realm


I would give ANYTHING to have a copy of this series... and I mean ANYTHING. I totally love it and have not been able to find copies of the episodes. SO if anyone finds anything.... :-)

well... enough for today. I have got a ton of work to do.

love, -tech


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan