Jimmy Buffet
2003-04-11 - 9:55 a.m.

Baba Boom! I have a confession to make - though most of you know this. I love Jimmy Buffet. How cool is that! And more importantly he is coming to Alpine Valley on Saturday June 28th for a concert I will never get to see :-( Fuck. The tickets go on sale this Saturday and are like $34.00 for the cheap seats ... But there is no way I can get them till maybe the early June and my luck they will be sold out and plus - I would have to arrange a sitter and everything. Dang it.

I think I best explain to you all my obsessions with all things Jimmy. I remember - at least since living with Turtle Lady that people think a Wisconsin is a little weird to like CARIBBEAN SOUL Music. But for me is it a little paradise of sound... It is the closest that I will ever come to a vacation - and I can do it anytime I want to. Some of his lyrics are just fun but a lot of them are really cool and meaningful to me. (I admit I am a total loser for all this).

Since I have you attention - I will discuss. This is not about the popular song : Cheeseburger in Paradise, Margarittaville or Lets Get Drunk and Screw... But the other songs.

First favorite song: a ballad known as Island (from the Coconut Telegraph Record)

	Island I see you in the distance
			I feel that your existence
			Is not unlike my own
			Island they say no man is like you
			They say you stand alone
			Sometimes I feel that way too

				*snip*

			Island I see you in the moonlight
			Silhouettes of ships in the night
			Just make me long that much more
			Island I see you in all of my dreams
			But I'm a man with no means to reach your distant shore

			When the need for love
			Heart and soul accompaniment
			That seems to make me different from you

			I've tried to build bridges
			But they all fell down
			I've taken to the air on wings of silver
			But always hit the ground


			Instrumental



			Well I tried to book passage, but you have no ports
			And I tried to sail in but your wind and waters
			Tore my sails and broke my oars.
			*snip*

There is something haunting about this song for me and the tune is so easy to sing. It really gets stuck in your head. I guess it is kinda a sad song though I am not sure I view it that way... It seems both happy and sad.

The next song is kinda a theme song for me (though I realize that I am not 40 yet! ) But there is something surreal about the feelings he sings about. I guess for me it is like a way to explain how I sometime feel out of place. I am a water person..a total water person. I love to hear it - smell it - see it. It calms me down and makes me happy.

Here is: A Pirate looks at 40 (A1A)

Mother, mother ocean, I have heard you call, 
Wanted to sail upon your waters 
since I was three feet tall. 
You've seen it all, you've seen it all. 

*snip*

Yes, I am a pirate two hundred years too late. 
The cannons don't thunder there's nothin' to plunder 
I'm an over forty victim of fate 
Arriving too late, arriving too late.

 
I've done a bit of smugglin' 
I've run my share of grass. 
I made enough money to buy Miami, 
But I pissed it away so fast, 
Never meant to last, never meant to last. 

I have been drunk now for over two weeks, 
I passed out and I rallied and I sprung a few leaks, 
But I've got to stop wishin', 
Got to go fishin', I'm down to rock bottom again. 
Just a few friends, just a few friends. 

*snip*

Mother, mother ocean, after all these years I've found 
My occupational hazard being my occupations 
just not around. 
I feel like I've drowned, 
Gonna head uptown. 

Total awesomeness... I love this song so much. I dance to it too... :-) (scary though, I know)

Okay -I think that I have tortured you all enough - except for one last song. This one is kind of a fun one. One of those classic play on words. I could talk about almost every song of his - but hey , I would like to KEEP my friends as friends. I know that most people probably have to real interest in Jimmy ad his music except for the occasional party tune but I am a diehard fan - please don't hold it against me. :-P

The Weather is Here: I wish you were beautiful:

He worked hard all year just wanted a few weeks alone
But his old lady's into modeling,
She can't stay away from the phone
Besides she bitches about the mosquitoes
She says "Down there there is nothing to do"
Her goddamn phone never stops ringing
He'll try the service in a day maybe two


Well, he's on his third drink before the
wheels of the plane leave the ground
Making points with the stewardess
climbing over Long Island Sound


She's also spending some time on the island
Too much city madness gives her the blues
They make a date to go dancing and dining
Seems neither has that much to lose


Chorus
The weather is here I wish you were beautiful
My thoughts aren't too clear but don't run away
My girlfiend's a bore, my job is too dutiful
Hell, nobody's perfect would you like to play
I feel together today


Well now that was just the start of
a well-deserved over due binge
Meanwhile back in the city certain
people are starting to cringe


His lawyers are calling his parents
His girlfriend doesn't know what to think
His partners are studing their options
He's just singing and ordering drinks


Chorus
The weather is here I wish you were beautiful
The skies are too clear life's easy today
The beer is too cold, the daquiri's too fruitiful
There's no place like home when it's this far away
I don't care what they say


He's going back to New York pack it up
and let everyone know
It was something that he should have done
such a long time ago
Still time to start a new life in the palm trees
Billy Clyde wasn't insane
And it doesn't work out there'll never be any doubt
That the pleasure was worth all the pain


Chorus
The weather is here I wish you were beautiful
The skies are too clear, life is easy today
The beer is too cold, the daquiri's too fruitiful
There's no place like home when it's this far away
I need time for to play

Bye now... tech.


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan