A night out with J
2003-04-16 - 12:52 p.m.

James and I went out last night - kinda like a date. It is an odd concept for us since we usually each do our own thing and the other stays home with the kids. But I now have a sitter for week nights and so we decided to go out. It was cool - in theory. Now, I will not say it was a disaster but it was almost a little strange. It felt odd.

We went to Perkins; Land of the Ever-ready Coffee and had dinner and dessert. We talked a lot about many things except for problems with. He dodged that conversation faster than a speeding bullet. He claims that there is nothing wrong with us. Hmm.. Okay?! But I have learned in the past that men and women see things very differently and so he might not see what I see. So I started explaining how I feel about some issues and he kept changing the subject. He says - things are fine, he will try to do more, and that was that.

Then I wanted to talk about school and a small problem I am having with registering and financial aid. Nothing really serious. But no...it because a lecture by him on how he got screwed over (I already knew this) and what went wrong (again - heard this many times before) and why he never question what they told him (didn't ever think to) I had remembered starting the conversation because I had wanted to talk ...but that never happened. I know all the problems with his school - and I think that a lot of it was because he was too lazy to be informed and just believed his father and others - blindly without knowing better. He just is not pro-active at all.

We talked a lot about the SCA - he wants to get really involved again. He wants to fight and win a Coronet or Crown Tourney... Making us royalty and also making us A LOT of WORK! I am not ready to do this. In the fire I lost all my garb, all my accessories, my rapier (I miss this sword), my Celtic sword, my dagger and all of our feast gear. Almost everything SCA related. We have one big event this summer that we are going to - it is a 4 day camping event that I never miss... But I will have to make 6 days worth of garb for 5 people. Not a huge problem but it will take time and he does not help with that (says he does not know how to sew though he is not willing to learn). He is usually not even willing to pack the car up! I do not think that we are ready to become more active to that level in the next year. Nor and I sure that my interest will be that great. I find it hard to be at events and go to events with the kids. Cost wise - to pay a sitter and then pay to go to events and everything involved - the expense is pretty big. SCA is not cheap.

I don't know. Then we decided for some damn reason to talk about sex. How thrilling. It started with one of those online Purity tests where I came in at only 42 % pure and he was like 55% pure (he had more drug things then me and I had more sex things - especially since I have dated both guys and girls) But we talked - He says that he is not sure that he is happy with our current sex life but either way he is content with it. What exactly does that mean? He says it means exactly what he said but for some odd reason, I don't really understand it. I think that he means that all is good, sorta. ? ? ? I don't know. He finished with - "things are good, right?"

He asked if I minded about him going to armoring and possibly joining Tim's role-playing gmae (meaning he would be busy every other Saturday night and every tuesday) I said no. I asked if it bugged him that I went and watch anime and hung out with Chris. He said - of course not! This was the deepest conversation we had.

All in all it was a good night. We managed to spend the entire night not actually discussing anything serious or anything truly about us. It is all nice small talk and when pressed to get into something more - he declined to talk and changed the subject. It was a lot like talking to no-one in particular about nothing at all. I know I have to push now about somethings for him to talk.. But that can wait a while.


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan