Beltane
2003-04-29 - 3:17 p.m.

I am not sure if my religious preferences offend anyone around here but it is getting really close to my favorite holiday: Beltain. I am not sure if I will be able to celebrate because of projects and surgery coming up but this is a special time for me.

For me it is a time of celebration of my own self, a time of reflection and a time of joy. I love May and I love spring time. Here is some information... for all of you out there.

Beltane: Also known as May Eve, May Day, and Walpurgis Night, happens at the beginning of May. It celebrates the height of Spring and the flowering of life. The Goddess manifests as the May Queen and Flora. The God emerges as the May King and Jack in the Green. The danced Maypole represents Their unity, with the pole itself being the God and the ribbons that encompass it, the Goddess. Colors are the Rainbow spectrum. Beltane is a festival of flowers, fertility, sensuality, and delight.

Beltane has long been celebrated with feasts and rituals. Beltane means fire of Bel; Belinos being one name for the Sun God, whose coronation feast we now celebrate. As summer begins, weather becomes warmer, and the plant world blossoms, an exuberant mood prevails. In old Celtic traditions it was a time of unabashed sexuality and promiscuity where marriages of a year and a day could be undertaken but it is rarely observed in that manner in modern times.

In the old Celtic times, young people would spend the entire night in the woods "A-Maying," and then dance around the phallic Maypole the next morning. Older married couples were allowed to remove their wedding rings (and the restrictions they imply) for this one night. May morning is a magickal time for wild water (dew, flowing streams, and springs) which is collected and used to bathe in for beauty, or to drink for health.

_____________________________________

I plan on finding some time to meditate and relax. I have a new life candle to lite and some wishes to make. I hope all of you have a great start to your spring time too.

Talk to you all later and I know that this is a bit of a short cheater entry but i just have too much to do right now. Also, there are some things in my life too great to talk about right now and there are some things that are just not right. I have to get through my surgery before I tackle some things. I have to take my time and see how it all works out.


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan