The test of time
2003-07-03 - 1:32 p.m.

I consider myself a �reluctant Type A personality with tendancies towards indecision�. Now, I know that sounds impossible but I think it is more than true. I absolutely loath decisions� even the little ones like which type of peanut butter to use on P.J. sandwich. I am terrible because I will set and think on a decision until the clock runs out � and then some. People hate this about me. I will even make a semi-perminante decision to almost �try-it-out� and then rapidly change my mind. Drive them batty � especially My Boy.

The other side of me is my reluctant Type A personality. I am a complete control monkey when it comes to my kids, my ex�s and some of my friends. I do because I have to. But I have always secretly wanted to not have to do it. And now, I have found a way � well, sorta. See, My Boy is also a Type A personality � though I must admit he is much more aggressive about it than I am (probably because he DOES NOT lack the decision making gene)

I admit that I usually relinquish my controls some when he is around (except for the majority of the kids stuff due to his inexperience with a couple of toddlers and the One Prized Toy). I love this about him and about Us. He gets to be in control and I feel almost relaxed inside. It is an almost heavenly experience. And I think it makes for a little more fairness in our relationship.

But last night we brinked on disaster. It started out fairly harmless � my bedroom needed to be rearranged due to the new placement of my DSL service and computer. No problem. I started to move things around and then would pause to survey the damage. Herein I put myself into Risk-Zone1� rearranging the bedroom means making decision about the life and movement of one�s furniture. I managed to make one solid decision which involved moving my small dresser to the half wall. I was very proud of myself.

During this slow and painful process My Boy decided to be his more-than-wonderful-helpful-self and join me in the bedroom. This made me happy�until the moving began. I was all set to relinquish commands for a short while until he put his hand on my computer desk and the alarms in my brain sounded. My Type A personality resurfaced with a vengeance � and I was almost angered by his decision to move MY stuff around to however he pleased. This beast was still being held in though, by my strong inability and �watch-me-run-away� tendancies towards decision making. So instead of me letting lose in anger � I ended up just a shy bit to the side of sulky.

He noticed � I spilled � we talked and all is good. Plus he even moved my dresser back where I had DECIDED it would go.

(For those keeping score)

Indecision 0 Techdragon 1

Hmm... maybe this IS built to last the test of time or at least last our first almost fight.

Love,

tech


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan