P.J. on vacation
2003-07-17 - 9:49 a.m.

It is thursday. I thought that by now I would be an emotional wreck but actually I am doing quite well. I almost feel guilty. For those who do not know, my eldest son P.J. is spending this week with his father in La Crosse. This is the first time in his life (3.5 years) that he has stayed away from me and with his father... this is also the first time he has seen his father in almost one year.

He did not recognize him nor know what to call him. He has been calling James daddy for almost two years of his life and now people are telling him that this other man is his father. I think that I have made a mistake and am determined not to duplicate it. I hope that this does not offend TBND but I think that my kids will continue to call him by his first name even if we stay together and get married. I think that when they are older and truely understand what is going on- maybe they will choose to refer to him as their step-dad but I think that this "replacement dad" theory is backfiring. P.J. should realize that he has a dad and had a step-dad. I don't think that he is old enough yet. I do not want Skeeter to be confused either. James is his dad and if I do marry someone else then Skeeter will have a person to call step-dad (when he is old enough to realize the difference.)

I am glad that Gaylan wants to see P.J. even though it has been this long. I think that Gaylan has changed his life a lot recently - he has married, started a daycare with his new wife, and is helping her raise her kids. I also realize that P.J. is not a baby and is a very capable three year-old. He is old enough to stay away from home.

I truely thought that I would not be able to handle it. I guess that is why I selfishly wanted him not to go. This has given me some quiet time and also some time to focus on Skeeter without P.J. there to be the older brother. I think that it has been good for him. Skeeter is a little more attached this week because he doesn't understand where P.J. is. I can handle that.

Gaylan wants to see P.J. one weekend a month. I can do that.


Help us stay afloat during Leukemia treatment... All help is appreciated more than you will ever know. Thank you!

then || now

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

current archives
the past poems profile
email notes book fans design host

reads:
stryck
dreamspeaker
bisa-pet
marn
kitchenwitch
gwengone
fafhard
diaryquotes
inarticulate
unclebob
ravynespeaks
maiarayne
i-girl
cordyvision
kate-kat
pischina
harri3tspy
kitchenlogic
weetabix
smartypants
alternamommy
thebigplan